Skip to main content

View and manage messages

Steps to view and manage messages sent within your organisation using the Admin area.

Written by Emma Ianson

You can keep track of all direct, group and community messages sent between users within your organisation within the Admin area. From here, you can send, edit, delete and flag messages, reply, react and put users on mute. Administrators can also manage group chats directly by adding or removing users and deleting the chats, where necessary.

⚠️Important: You need Administrator permissions to follow any steps in this article.

Locate and view user messages

To view user messages, follow these steps:

  1. Log in to Access Messenger using your Access Evo credentials.

  2. Click the Admin Admin icon icon.

  3. Under MODERATION, you'll default to Conversations.

  4. Use the drop-down to choose Messages list or Communities list.

  5. Click Messages or Threads to filter the messages further in your chosen view.

  6. Click on the desired channel to view the messages.


Administrator visibility

Administrators have elevated visibility. They can see all communities and direct messages across the organisation, even if they aren’t a member of those conversations.

This is intentional and supports moderation best practice so that they're able to:

  • Monitor all communications for compliance and safety.

  • Respond to flagged content in any channel.

  • Investigate issues, including private conversations.

  • Maintain oversight without needing to be manually added to every community or message thread.

Key distinction between administrator and user roles

  • Regular users: Can only see communities they're members of and their own direct messages.

  • Administrators: Can see all communities and all direct messages organisation-wide through the Admin area.


Manage group chats

As an Administrator, you can manage any manually created group chat via the Admin area, including chats you're not a member of, or where the original creator has left.

For group chat actions available to all users, see Create a group chat.

Add users to a group chat

To add users to a group chat, follow these steps:

  1. Click the Admin Admin icon icon.

  2. Find and click the relevant group chat.

  3. Click the information icon next to the group chat name.

  4. Click Add new members.

  5. Click into the Enter a name drop-down field.

  6. Scroll or search and click the user’s name.

  7. Click Done.

Remove users from a group chat

To remove users from a group chat, follow these steps:

  1. Click the Admin Admin icon icon.

  2. Find and click the relevant group chat.

  3. Click the information icon next to the group chat name.

  4. Next to the required chat member names, click Remove.

Group admin

Every group chat has an admin, identified by the Admin label shown next to their name in the member list (visible via the information icon next to the group name).

The group admin can't be removed from the group. If the admin leaves, administration is automatically transferred to another member, and a message appears in the group chat announcing who the new admin is.

Delete a group chat

To delete a group chat, follow these steps:

  1. Click the Admin Admin icon icon.

  2. Find and click the relevant group chat.

  3. In the top-right, click the three dots.

  4. Click Delete conversation.

  5. A confirmation message appears. Click Delete to confirm, or Cancel to go back.

Did this answer your question?