Skip to main content

Create a group chat

Steps to manually create a group chat and manage members and settings within it.

Written by Emma Ianson

You can manually create a group chat to send the same message to several users at once, with no limit on the number of users you can include. Users can continue communicating with all other group members, and group creators can remove users from a group if necessary.

Manually create a group chat

To create a group chat manually, follow the steps:

  1. Click + next to Direct Messages.

  2. In the To field, search for and click on all required users.

  3. Type your message, then click the send icon.


Rename a group chat

As the creator of a group chat, or as an Administrator who is a member of the group, you can rename it once the first message has been sent.

To rename a group chat, follow the steps:

  1. Click the three dots icon to the right-hand side of the current group name.

  2. Click Rename Group.

  3. Type the new name in the New channel name field, then click Rename Group.


Remove users from groups

You can remove users from group chats that you've manually created. If you're a user in a group, but not the creator, you can mute a user, mute the group, or leave entirely instead.

To remove users from groups you've manually created, follow the steps:

📌 Notes:

  • This applies only to manually created group chats. Removing users from communities uses a different process.

  • Administrators can also remove users from any manually created group chat, including chats they're not a member of, or where the creator has left, via Message Explorer.

  1. Open the group chat.

  2. Click the information icon next to the group chat name.

  3. Next to the required chat member names, click Remove.


Add users to group chats

As the creator of a group chat, you can add more users at any point.

To add more users at a later stage, follow these steps:

🤓 Tip: If you can't find the user's name, they may already be in the group. Please check existing members before adding.

📌 Note: Administrators can also add users to any manually created group chat, including chats they're not a member of, or where the creator has left, via Message Explorer.

  1. Open the group chat.

  2. Click the information icon next to the group chat name.

  3. Click Add new members.

  4. Click into the Enter a name drop-down field.

  5. Scroll or search and click the user's name.

  6. Click Done.


Mute a user

You can mute users in a group chat to stop receiving notifications when they send a message.

To mute a user, follow these steps:

  1. Hover over the message.

  2. Click the three dots to the right of the message.

  3. Click Mute.


Leave a group chat

You can leave group chats that you've been added to as a member.

To leave a group, follow these steps:

  1. Open the group chat.

  2. Click the three dots at the top right corner of the chat.

  3. Click Leave Group, then click Yes to confirm.

Did this answer your question?